top of page

Cooking and Gardening with the Ancestral Realms

You would not necessarily see the synchronicity between the purchase of a recently released book, “Wild Remedies” by Rosalee de la Foret and Emily Han and my participation in Daniel Foor’s online “Bring out your Dead” Ancestral Medicine series, but they indeed intertwine.

I have been cultivating a California Native Plant Garden in the front yard for over 10 years. By cultivating, I must admit, Julie James’ quote about “thriving with benign neglect”, most appropriately describes my gardening methods. It is wild and carefree, among the fake grass “lawns” in the neighborhood, with a 65 year old Western Sycamore as the Queen of the land. Mental and physical issues have also made it hard to tame the backyard for most of the last 3 years, so wildcrafting is easy and sustainable at home.


Ancestral Trauma Healing has been my calling and practice for the last 8 years, but it is within the ritual practices of Foor’s animistic workings that has brought me a deeper and closer communion with the plants, trees, rocks and dirt of my yard and gardens as the Ancestral realm that they are. Ordering this new book, at about the time the series began has me making chickweed pesto, quinoa mallow patties, dandelion lemonade and more delightful edibles. I must say that the plants seem to be as excited as I am, to be useful and appreciated.


Now my morning Sun Salutation practice and clearing, includes speaking with the garden, watering, weeding and clearing invasive vines. Just like my Ancestral Healing practices, there are some ‘weeds’ that are less desirable than others, so discerning the foxtails from the oats and giving the wild lettuce boundaries feels like a similar practice. It has been in pulling out the Morning Glory vines, that the yard has dubbed “choking vine” that has really felt similar to pulling trauma from the deepest root it is sourced in. Neglected for several years, watered by neighboring yards and wet winters, this task is not done in one morning, but I continue to look for signs of invasion, and pull it out as deeply as I can, then finding the next point of invasion to clear.


My new level of relationship with the natural realms is supportive of my creativity, my exercise and nutrition. Each morning, I get to renew myself and that relationship. It has been a blessing to slow down and appreciate what is around to nurture and sustain me at this strange time. As I nurture and allow the wisdom of the plant and mineral spirits to teach and support me, I hope that this sharing will open your eyes and heart to the pulse of the earth as she grows and blossoms at this potent time of year.



Disclaimer: The ideas expressed in this blog are reflective of my personal path and experience. They are not presented as ‘truth’ to anyone but myself. I hope that they might spur insights in your own life and practices, but each of us have our own journey.

134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page