top of page

Energetic Housekeeping; Keeping yourself clean while doing a somewhat dirty job.

Updated: Apr 25, 2018

Some useful suggestions for yourself, your space and your work.


When doing any kind of healing, personal hygiene, such as washing your hands is imperative. When doing energetic work, it is just as important, if not more so.

One of the ways I center myself, is a Chakra Check In. This is merely a breath in and out, as I mentally check each Chakra and move on. It is a practice I employ each time I start a mediation, healing session or even when I am feeling chaotic. I believe it helps keep me “in” my body, rooted and grounded in the physicality and yet open to the working.

I take this work further, when I shower, I open and clear my chakras in the running water. When I have opened each up using a counter-clockwise motion in front of it, I use my hand in a clearing motion into the water stream. Depending on how I feel, I may do this clearing process two or three times for each chakra. After they are clear, we don’t want to leave a vacuum, so I feel the golden light from above pouring down across each chakra, filling them up with divine light. I then close each chakra with a clockwise motion and continue with my showering. If I have done some work/or had a situation that felt particularly “sticky”, I have also used my hand as a blade to cut and clear any attachments I have made, during the course of a day or in doing healing work on others. Clearing the bottoms of your feet in this manner is very important as there are all manners of things we walk through during the course of a day.

With a name like Krystal, my use of gems and minerals is probably not surprising. My go-to for energy clearing is a set of three; Black Tourmaline, Smokey Quartz and Rose Quartz. These stones are grouped together in a bowl on the dining room table, in the bedroom and in the car. I also have them buried in the yard, both front and back. I have made up more little bags of these, than I can count, to share with friends. The Black Tourmaline is known for attracting, absorbing and clearing negative energy. The Smokey Quartz is an extra "vacuum" to draw in more negativity to clear. Rose Quartz is added to do it all with love and healing energy. Rose Quartz is also my primary mineral ally in doing my healing work, so including her is an important balance in the cleaning team.

I also have a spray that is made with Sage, Palo Santo and Frankincense oils, that is very useful when a space needs some freshening or clearing. Each of these spirits are effective, but work in slightly different ways to help clear a space and It is important to be aware of their energy and actions. The Sage works like a rain, washing away all the negativity. It is powerfully clearing, but leaves a vacuum, so the negative energy can seep right back in, if you aren’t aware enough to fill the space with positive/healing/uplifting energy after. If you use Sage alone, I suggest you follow with something like lavender to filling that void. Palo Santo works differently, by filling the space with a prayer to the divine, pushing out all the negativity. Because I use this together with the Sage, I am filling that void/vacuum with the energy of the Palo Santo. Because the Palo Santo is a “prayer”, it can also be imbued with your own words of prayer to clear and fill the space or otherwise direct that energy to your work. Frankincense attracts beneficial divine spirit, which is why it is used in churches. This is also good for filling the space left by Sage. You can certainly clear a space with any single one of these powerful spirits, but I have enjoyed having them all work together as a team.


A few cleaning supplies in my cupboard

My last suggestion is to always be aware that taking your own trash out, is not an easy task. Sometimes you might need to see someone else to help you do it. I do not advocate dependence on someone else to do all of the clean-up work, I am suggesting that if it still doesn’t feel right, after doing the work, get help. I have friends that I ask and have helped in return. I have used spirit partners and allies. I have also gone to see healers that don’t know me or my work, just to check. Recently I did that and the gentleman told me that he had never worked on anyone with chakras as clear as mine, so I must be doing something right at least most of the time. He also helped me by seeing beyond the 7 chakras to an 8th and getting it unstuck. The numbering and attribution of chakras beyond the basic 7 is a very subjective topic, so that will have to be another post. But his suggestion was that the 8th as he saw it, was impeding my ability to get things done in the material plane. Since the work, I have been able to move forward in a number of ways. So there can be multiple benefits from having a spirit check-up by someone objective.

There are a variety of ways to energetically cleanse yourself and your space, the how isn’t nearly as important as the doing. These are just a few helpful ideas that I have learned along my journey.


Disclaimer: The ideas expressed in this blog are reflective of my personal path and experience. They are not presented as ‘truth’ to anyone but myself. I hope that they might spur insights in your own life and practices, but each of us have our own journey.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page