top of page

Forgetting myself

Updated: Jan 23, 2020


Recently I participated in a Gefjon’s Gifts workshop for entrepreneurs using a tool called SWOT analysis. It was a chance to look at a businesses model or idea and find the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats. In the workshop we set up SMART goals.



Now, less than two weeks later, I couldn’t even recall a single goal without looking at the workbook. This is a familiar pattern and one of the reasons I abhor making goals. What is the point of making them when I can’t even focus on them after the effort of figuring them out? In fact, I honestly only did the workshop because the name didn’t mention ‘goals’ at all.

Last night, I dug out the workbook and in a small supportive group, I posted the goals that I had forgotten about. I revised a couple that were time-bound or a bit more than I could reasonably manage. But honestly, none of the goals were unreachable if I had taken the time to prioritize them in my life. Sharing this struggle with others was a second chance to hold myself accountable.

My SMART goals from Jan 20th 1. Two Blog Posts a week, with a commitment to writing for an hour a day. (writing time not limited to the blog post) 2. Setup an online presentation by Feb 1st. 3. Do 3 two-minute promo videos for presentation. 4. New content for Ancestral Trauma Healing presentations, by May 30th,

Early this morning, as I woke up in the darkness, I took a deeper look into this self-sabotaging behavior. Recognizing it for self-sabotage was the first piece of the puzzle. Reaching for some clarity in prayer I found the deeper thread of a forgotten child and my eyes welled up with tears. I felt a shift inside as I reached that point and this blog post began to coalesce in my head. I thought I would be able to go back to sleep, and write at a more reasonable hour. I should have known better, especially in light of goal number one.

So, I will leave you with my revised SMART Goals for Feb 2nd. 1. Two Blog Posts a week. This might be overreaching, so if I can get One blog post out a week, I will be pleased. I do still want to get at least an hour of writing a day, on blogs or other (I have the writing workshop I joined too)

2. Setup an online presentation by Feb 1st. Resetting goal date to Feb 15th.

3. Do 3 two-minute promo videos for presentation. Resetting to do that within the week, so I promo the online presentation.

4. Work on new content for Ancestral Trauma Healing presentations. By May 30th, this is still okay, just need it to be part of my weekly writing time.

This week is already ending better than it started. If my week starts on Monday, this is one blog post, and you should look for another before next weekend. I have been writing almost an hour this morning. I can look at other writing tasks for a few more minutes. It is small steps that take us to our goals, it is small steps that we can use to heal from our Ancestral wounds.


Disclaimer: The ideas expressed in this blog are reflective of my personal path and experience. They are not presented as ‘truth’ to anyone but myself. I hope that they might spur insights in your own life and practices, but each of us have our own journey.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page