top of page

This isn’t our Ancestor’s first rodeo… it is just the most recent of many epidemics and diseases.

Updated: Apr 19, 2020

Some thoughts on the Coronavirus, community response and Ancestral Trauma Healing.


In between washing my hands, I have been having some thoughts about how this current world situation is hitting from the perspective of Ancestral Trauma. My next thought is how to use this information to make rational choices and find healing and compassion in the process. We’ve heard of many epidemics; SARS, H1N1, Spanish Flu, The Plague are just a few diseases that have terrified humanity throughout our history. Most indigenous people were infected by colonizers with common illnesses that they had no immunity for. Diseases with no cure, that are invisible and highly contagious are not for the faint of heart and have traumatized many generations in our history.


Facing the deaths of hundreds and even thousands, will certainly bring up our fear based responses…it’s why we can’t go to the store and by a package of toilet paper today. But if we step back from the reactionary responses and bring some rationality and compassion to ourselves, our communities and the world, we can take steps that are helpful and far-reaching.


Start with taking a deep breath, and another…and one more for good measure. Check in with yourself…when did you last wash your hands, what is your new form of greetings, do you have food for today and tomorrow, where are you feeling the fear in your body in this moment.


Next send some love to the part of your body that is feeling the fear, check in with a friend via text or email to see how they are doing, and wash your hands.


Here are some of the ways I have been choosing to respond to the current crisis:


1. I personally always have a fairly well stocked pantry. I know my sister does as well, so I would guess this is likely in response to ancestral trauma. Because this is always done, I can just think about a few extra things to add to it, that won’t deplete my neighborhood market. It has been frightening to even look at the number of empty shelves at the stores I have been in, but I don’t need to purchase in fear, I have already purchased in preparedness.


2.In my herbal arena, I have upped our intake of Elderberry syrup. Normally we have a dose during the winter once or twice a week, now we are taking it daily, I already have the dried herbs in stock for this, which is good, since my supplier is out of stock on most of them. When supplies are available, I can restock, but I have what I need today.(note that if you have an overactive immune system like fibro-myalgia or are taking immune-suppressant medication, using Elderberry or other immune support is contraindicated.) Thyme is anti-microbial, anti-viral and anti-fungal with an affinity for your lungs, the cheapest and easiest way to get this into your body is actually Vicks Vapor Rub. Put on your feet, morning and night with warm socks over…is an effective barrier to sharing or picking up germs from others. I also use an essential oil blend with thyme, but Vicks is effective by itself. (this is a good suggestion, unless you have renal failure or kidney weakness) Mullein and Yerba Santa tea is also helpful for strengthening our lungs and upper respiratory system. *If you have a medical condition, please check with your doctor or practitioner, before using any of these suggestions.


3.My personal addiction to homemade soaps is certainly a benefit now, I am able to reach for a new bar in the full drawer I have stocked in the bathroom. Thank you to all the herbal soap makers I have purchased from, I get to remember where I purchased each bar, as I wash my hands.



4.In addition to washing my hands, I have cleaned door handles and common surfaces touched in the house with a bleach and herbal wash (barberry root tincture), I need to remember to do that regularly. I used hand sanitizer on my steering wheel.


5.My favorite new greeting is a curtsy, it isn’t as delicate in pants as it would be in a long skirt, but when I say what I am doing, we laugh and that is good medicine too…social distancing does not have to isolate us, but it is important, so that we don’t overwhelm our limited medical system.


6.Check on vulnerable community members and friends…you aren’t responsible for everyone else, but chose one or two people who might need to be checked on and do what you can, sometimes just the check in, is enough that they don’t feel so all alone.


7.I am limiting my news intake and listening to trusted sources. That is my local health community leaders, as well as my herbal community.


Note that none of my actions need to demonize anyone, they don’t have to feed the fear demons or become xenophobic. Finding compassion for ourselves, our neighbors and the rest of the world is an important lesson to learn during this time of international crisis.


I know there is a specific component of Ancestral Trauma Healing focus for me, but I am still mulling over what angle to take it, especially since I don’t think there is a single point to heal, but many…if you have ideas, I am happy to hear them…if there is work you are doing or thinking about, please share that too. Our world is very traumatized, let us find more healing, rather than causing more trauma buildup where we can. Also a quick reminder that Ancestral Trauma Healing is as effective remotely as it is in person. Please contact me via email to set up an appointment via Skype or FB messenger if you feel called to dig into the work.


Sending <3 & compassion to you all with a last reminder to Wash Your Hands! Disclaimer: The ideas expressed in this blog are reflective of my personal path and experience. They are not presented as ‘truth’ to anyone but myself. I hope that they might spur insights in your own life and practices, but each of us have our own journey.

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page