top of page

What does “Healing” mean to you?

Updated: Nov 30, 2018

(Note that this was shared by me in The Witches’ Realm on Facebook)


I thought that it would be important to have a discussion about what “Healing” means to you.

I have noticed that often the word this thrown around and has vastly different meanings to different people. Your culture, your experience, your practices, your worldview will all have impact on what it means when you hear or see that word.


We don’t have to agree on the definition but understanding that it might mean different things to different people in especially important if you are working in a healing field.


I consider myself a “healer”. I work with herbs and stones and energy…my personal practices are focused on some specific areas that I feel I can make a positive impact. I have learned a variety of things in different areas, but by focusing on specific things I feel like I can make more of a impact. I am also called to do work that is connected with my own experiences.


My healing work is what I do to make a difference in the world I live in. I do it for myself, my loved ones, my friends and those who I come in contact with that need the kind of healing I am best at. I have found that often I will be doing work for myself and others will gravitate to me, that need the same or similar help, there is a resonance of healing that attracts those that need it.

Healing for me, means helping in some manner, to make a positive change in a situation. During some of my classes, I have been taught and reminded that sometimes “healing” can result in death, if that is the positive change in that particular situation. Being aware of that is important for me to understand when I chose to help another person. I have also been taught that some forms of “healing” can result in making a situation worse, if not focused carefully. An example is a person with cancer or an autoimmune disease, sending “healing energy” that is not focused carefully, can actually help the cancer or disease get stronger. I have been told, but have not needed to employ this method myself, that “cursing” is actually a very effective tool for healing work, when directed at a tumor or physical problem.


My focus in my physical healing work is Immune and Adrenal support. I do that with teas and syrups, with a focus on adaptogenic herbs. (for reference, here is a link with some basic information) This is good medicine for those who have had stressful childhoods, who have a heightened “flight or fight” response. It comes from focusing my herbal training on what would help me and those closest to me with the resources I have. I have recently been reminded the importance of focusing my healing work on my personal self-care, as they say when you fly, “Put your own oxygen mask on first, before you help someone else.”


My spiritual/emotional/energy healing work is focused on Ancestral Trauma Healing. This originated out of some personal healing work, but it expanded when I did some work for myself and my sister via ancestral trauma. As I cleared more trauma, that resonance attracted friends and others to me, and I have helped a number of people. I have recently been urged by spirit to continue my expansion to share my work with others. This is not just to “do” work with or for others, but more importantly, to share the need to do it, in a variety of forms with others. It is actually work that can be done by almost any healing modality, if you focus your intent on the practice. Meditative practices, shamanic practices, herbal practices, energy work such as Reiki, gemstones, art work and more…it is a matter of becoming aware of the need and using the tools that you work with to make small or large healing changes.





So I have shared some of what “healing means to me”, I would love to hear what it means to you…when you ask for it or when you practice it for yourself or others. Disclaimer: The ideas expressed in this blog are reflective of my personal path and experience. They are not presented as ‘truth’ to anyone but myself. I hope that they might spur insights in your own life and practices, but each of us have our own journey.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page